Cavendish equals Tour de France record

2 months ago 19
Mark CavendishCavendish won his archetypal Tour signifier successful 2008

Britain's Mark Cavendish made past successful the Tour de France arsenic helium equalled Belgian large Eddy Merckx's grounds of 34 signifier wins.

The Deceuninck-Quick Step rider won the sprint into Carcassonne by a fewer inches up of team-mate Michael Morkov.

Briton Simon Yates of Team Bike Exchange abandoned the contention pursuing a clang successful which respective riders fell down a ravine.

"It's what I dreamed of arsenic a kid. I've worked truthful hard for it," said Cavendish.

Tadej Pogacar of UAE-Team Emirates remains successful the leader's yellowish jersey.

An affectional and physically drained Cavendish embraced each of his team-mates astatine the decorativeness and cried retired "we've made history" arsenic helium hugged Davide Ballerini.

Cavendish added: "I'm truthful dormant - 220km successful that heat, successful that wind. I went truthful heavy determination - they boys were incredible. I can't judge it.

"For a batch of the time it didn't consciousness similar it was going to happen. I was truthful connected the limit. You saw that astatine the extremity [which was] somewhat uphill.

"It is conscionable similar my archetypal 1 [win connected the Tour]. It was what I dreamed of arsenic a kid and it is what I imagination of now. I person worked truthful hard for it."

If Cavendish tin past the upland stages successful the Pyrenees to come, helium could yet eclipse the people that Merckx, a five-time wide victor of the Tour, acceptable successful 1975.

The Manxman should person 2 much opportunities to instrumentality the grounds outright, archetypal connected signifier 19 into Libourne and past connected the last time of the contention connected the Champs-Elysees successful Paris, wherever helium has antecedently won 4 times.

More to follow

Stage 13 results

1. Mark Cavendish (GB/Deceunick-Quick-Step) 5hrs 04mins 29secs

2. Michael Morkov (Den/Deceunick-Quick-Step) Same time

3. Jasper Philipsen (Bel/Alpecin-Fenix)

4. Ivan Garcia (Sap/Movistar)

5. Danny van Poppel (Ned/Intermarche-Wanty-Gobert)

6. Alex Aranburu (Spa/Astana)

7. Christophe Laporte (Fra/Cofidis)

8. Andre Greipel (Ger/Israel Start-Up Nation)

9. Magnus Cort (Den/EF Education-Nippo)

10. Jasper Stuyen (Bel/Trek-Segafredo)

General classification aft signifier 13:

1. Tadej Pogacar (Slo/UAE Team Emirates) 52hrs 27mins 12secs

2. Rigoberto Uran (Col/EF Education Nippo) + 5mins 18secs

3. Jonas Vingegaard (Den/Jumbo Visma) +5mins 32secs

4. Richard Carapaz (Ecu/Ineos Grenadiers) +5mins 33secs

5. Ben O'Connor (Aus/AG2R Citroen) +5mins 58secs

6. Wilco Kelderman (Ned/Bora-Hansgrohe) +6mins 16secs

7. Alexey Lutsenko (Kaz/Astana) +6mins 30secs

8. Enric Mas (Spa/Movistar) +7mins 11secs

9. Guillaume Martin (Fra/Cofidis) +9mins 29secs

10. Pello Bilbao (Spa/Bahrain Victorious) +10mins 28secs

Read Entire Article